• davesheasports

Brogan LaRose Wins Dave Shea Sportsmanship Award

Updated: Jul 16, 2019

Brogan LaRose’s connection with the Ogdensburg Boys and Girls Club dates back two generations when his grandfather the late Thomas P. Luckie Sr. was relocated from New York City to become the Executive Director of the OBGC.

Recently LaRose’s association as an outstanding and lifelong member of the club were highlighted when he was presented with the 2019 Dave C. Sportsmanship Award. The Dave C. Shea Sportsmanship Award Ceremony is held each year to complete the activities year at the OBGC before its switches over to its summer schedule.

The Award was known as the Sir Thomas Lipton Award from 1995-1998 at clubs all over the country. At that point the OBGC changed the name to the Dave C. Shea for his promotion of the club and sportsmanship as the Sports Editor of “The Journal and Advance News.”

LaRose, who will enter his senior year as a student-athlete at Ogdensburg Free Academy in the fall, was chosen from an outstanding group of finalists which also includes: Nick Davison, JC Degroat, Kiara Deloney, Julia Ives, Lucca LaBella, Tyler Small and Ian Rose.

“The club is a place I can go to hang out with my friends, shoot hoops all of the time and interact with staff Members that help me work on sportsmanship. As one of the older members I like to encourage the younger members to be a good sports whether they win or lose. It all helps to you earning the respect of others,” said LaRose in an essay he wrote as finalist for the award.

“In the club’s Senior Basketball League this year, our team worked together, encouraged each other and most of our team showed up every week so we had to work together as a team to help us succeed.”


As part of the end of the year ceremonies at the OBGC special awards were presented to deserving members.

The Anne Lynch Memorial Sports Camp Award was presented to Ian Rose. Anne Lynch was one of the first standout female athletes at OFA which sports programs were founded in the wake of Title IX.

The Keith Knowlton Memorial Table Award was presented to Taylor Dashnaw in memory of the late St. Lawrence County Sheriff who provided club members with table tennis lessons for many years. Dashnaw was the winner of a club tournament.

The OBGC Academic Awards were presented to club members who spend the most hours in the OBGC Learning Lab. Brynn Morley received an award as the Outstanding Academic Achiever heading the Academic Award recipients which also included: Milex Pharoah, Bre Riddles, Brynn Riddle, Delany Merna, Amelia Reynolds, Annabelle Pray and Terry Pray.

Youth of the Year Cooper Hunter was also honored for participating in a state-wide program in Albany. “NBo amount of adversity could steer me away from my goals and what I want to accomplish. The Ogdensburg Boys and Girls Club has haelped me avoid negative influences and repeating family history of addiction,” said Hunter. Hunter also received the $500 Thomas P. Luckie Sr. Scholarship.

The Peg LaVigne Memorial Volunteer Award was presented by Mrs. LaVigne’s daughter Peggy LeFevre and Kelvin Bice. The award was presented to Seaway Career and Technical Center’s Culinary Arts Department which produces the meals which provided members, staff and volunteers on Thursdays. Teacher Teresa Smith and Teaching Assistant Chelsea Travis were on hand to accept the award.

The J. Russell Phillips Scholarships of $250 were presented to OBGC Junior Staff members Cody George and Bre Shaver. The Russ McDonald Service Award was presented to Nick Davison who provided 81 hours of volunteer service at the club over the course of the year.


In 2014 to celebrate 50 years of serving youth the Ogdensburg Boys and Girls Club created a “Giving Tree” to honor those for their past support of the club and the youth we serve. Each year the club adds leaves to the branches in memory of rhose who have passed away and have designated the Ogdensburg boys and Girls Club for donations in their memory, as well as for those who give a significant amount for the year, lifetime giving or who have become members of our Heritage Club making the club a beneficiary in a will, insurance policy, retirement fund or other type of legacy living.

Additions to the Giving Tree on Saturday night were: Olivia Davis, SIPS and Roc and Natalie Harper, Pat and Jackie Kelly, Kevin and Amber Kendall, K-Kids Kennedy and Madill School, Andy Kristi DeDekker, Elizabeth “Bippy” Luckie and the St. Lawrence University World of Change.

Memorial contributions were made to honor Charles W. Kelly, Milo by MacDougall Enterprises, Larry Powers, Pauline Sholette and Margaret Smith.

276 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

OFA Reschedules Postponed Games With Massena

FROM OFA ATHLETIC DIRECTOR ,TONY BJORK The OFA Boys & Girls (V & JV) Basketball games have been rescheduled for the following: OFA V & JV Boys Basketball rescheduled from Mon. 03/01 to Sat. 03/06: M

Doug's Offers Dining With Heuvelton Games On Big Screen

FROM DOUG'S TAVERN Heuvelton JV and Varsity Basketball Games start this week. We will have the games on the big screen TV in the dining area if anyone would like watch some basketball. Bring your fam

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.