• davesheasports

Coach Dack Award Recipients Lead Basketball Recognition


Because of the many complications caused by the COVID-19 pandemic the Northern Conference Boys and Girls Basketball seasons were abbreviated.

Games were scheduled to reduce travel and play in the Central, East and West divisions could not be held and the Section X Athletic Council decided that the fall , winter, and fall 2 season will not be sponsoring All Northern Conference Awards. The spring 2020-2021 will be the only season that will sponsor Section 10 awards.

"As we had several schools that could not participate and out of fairness to those student athletes and those superintendents agreed to not reference or support any awards for those three seasons given the pandemic," said Section 10 Athletic Coordinator Carl Normandin.

In effort to provide recognition to the oustanding players and select group of seniors for exemplary ability, leadership and sportsmanship Section 10 Basketball Chairman Bill Merna organized a committee to select players for recognition awards. The committee included members of the media in print and radio.

The awards were presented by division with every team represented and were sponsored by Howland Pump and Supply of Ogdensburg.

A group of senior players were honored their outstanding bodies of work in ability, sportsmanship and sportsmanship

In Girls Basketball seniors recognized receive Coach Shawn Dack Awards which also recognize Coach Dack for his contributions to Section 10 Basketball. Dack, who retired Hammond Central School's Girls Basketball and Girls Soccer Coaches and as the school's Director of Athletics in October, led Lady Red Devil teams to any number of division, sectional and regional titles and the historic back to back New York State Class D Championships.

Receiving the Coach Shawn Dack Senior Awards are: Avery Kenyon of Hammond, Emma Plumley of Madrid-Waddington, Lexi Huiatt of Canton, Madison Ansari of Malone, Lucy Frary of Edwards-Knox and Emily Farrand of OFA.

The seniors are honored for their individual achievements and for significant contributions ass their teams contended for or won championships at the division, section and regional level and New York State Final Four appearances.


Canton: Lexi Huiatt, Emily Wentworth

OFA: Emily Farrand, Gabrielle Morley.

Gouverneur: Lanie Smith.

Malone: Madison Ansari, Ryleigh McCauley.

Potsdam: Luca Pecora.

Massena: Layla Bingham.

Salmon River: Lindsay Martin.

St. Lawrence Central: McKenna Moreau.


Madrid-Waddington: Emma Plumley, Grace Plumley.

Colton-Pierrepont: Alexus Cuthbert, Isabelle Vaccaro.

Norwood-Norfolk: Kylee Kellison, Amy Schiavone.

St. Regis Falls: Rhea Work, Emily Arcadi.

Brushton-Moira: Emma Russell.

Parishville-Hopkinton: Kelly Bloom.

Tupper Lake Cadence Tyo.


Hammond: Avery Kenyon, Hailey Cunningham.

Heuvelton: Bella Doyle, Molly Williams.

Edwards-Knox: Lucy Frary, Lily Lottie.

Hermon-DeKalb; Audri Tehonica, Emery McQuade.

Morristown: Carly Piercey.

Lisbon: Mikaela Buckley.

Harrisville: Tori Moore.

804 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


xA split of Sunday morning NAC interdivisional doubleheader with Potsdam gave Lisbon some momentum for next week's Section 10 Tournament where the Golden Knights will play in the Class C ranks for the

Heuvelton Lineup

Kathryn Cunningham94Rylin McAllister96Mikayla Ritchie108Chasity Johnson911Lily Spooner1112Amber Cunningham1216Molly Williams1218Dakota West1220Carley Simmons921Allison Trathen1023Lakan Martin924Lara M