• davesheasports

Cooperstown's Parade Of Legends features 59 Hall Of Famers

(COOPERSTOWN, N.Y.) – It’s the largest gathering of Hall of Famers on the baseball calendar, and this year features a record 59 Hall of Famers in Cooperstown.

For one evening every July, Main Street in Cooperstown becomes baseball’s biggest red carpet celebration during the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum’s Parade of Legends.

A chance to see the game’s legends and heroes up close, the Parade of Legends returns at 6 p.m. on Saturday, July 20. Now in its 10th year, the parade will originate on Chestnut Street, then proceed down Main Street before concluding at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Fans are encouraged to gather near Pioneer Park at Main and Pioneer streets for optimal viewing opportunities. Live announcements introducing all of the Hall of Fame members and participants will be featured.

Fans will have a front-row seat to catch a glimpse of the returning Hall of Famers as they parade along the route. Hall of Famers will ride down the parade route in trucks provided by Ford Motor Company. Fifty-nine Hall of Famers, including Class of 2019 members Harold Baines, Edgar Martinez, Mike Mussina, Mariano Rivera and Lee Smith, are slated to be in Cooperstown for Hall of Fame Weekend. The sixth member of the Class of 2019, the late Roy Halladay, will be honored posthumously at the July 21 Induction Ceremony.

Immediately prior to the Parade of Legends, the Hall of Fame Awards Presentation will be held at Doubleday Field starting at 4:30 p.m. The one-hour program will feature the presentation of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing to Jayson Stark of The Athletic. The late Al Helfer will be posthumously honored with the Ford C. Frick Award for broadcast excellence. The returning Hall of Famers will watch the Awards Presentation from seats on the Doubleday Field stage.

MLB Network’s Greg Amsinger will emcee the Awards Presentation, which is free and open to the public.

The Parade of Legends is just part of the July 19-22 Induction Weekend in Cooperstown as Baines, Halladay, Martinez, Mussina, Rivera and Smith are inducted as the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019. TheInduction Ceremony takes place at 1:30 p.m. on July 21 on the grounds of the Clark Sports Center, one mile south of the Hall of Fame on Susquehanna Avenue. Admission to the Induction Ceremony is free.

The 2019 Induction Ceremony will be televised live exclusively on MLB Network and broadcast nationally on MLB Network Radio on SiriusXM.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum maintains the following Hall of Fame Weekend hours: Friday, July 19: 9 a.m. – 10 p.m.; Saturday, July 20: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. (Plaque Gallery closes at 4:30 p.m.); Sunday, July 21: 8 a.m. – 9 p.m.; Monday, July 22: 9 a.m. – 9 p.m. For Hall of Fame Members, doors open at 7 a.m. on Saturday and Sunday, and at 8 a.m. on Monday. As always, Hall of Fame Members receive free admission. Interested parties may enroll in the Membership Program in advance at or at the Museum.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. from Memorial Day Weekend until the day before Labor Day. Ticket prices are $25 for adults (13 and over), $20 for seniors (65 and over) and $15 for juniors (ages 7-12) and $18 for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations. Members are always admitted free of charge, and there is no charge for active military, career 20-year retired military personnel and children 6 years of age or younger. This institution is an equal opportunity provider. For more information, visit our website at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


xA split of Sunday morning NAC interdivisional doubleheader with Potsdam gave Lisbon some momentum for next week's Section 10 Tournament where the Golden Knights will play in the Class C ranks for the

Heuvelton Lineup

Kathryn Cunningham94Rylin McAllister96Mikayla Ritchie108Chasity Johnson911Lily Spooner1112Amber Cunningham1216Molly Williams1218Dakota West1220Carley Simmons921Allison Trathen1023Lakan Martin924Lara M