• davesheasports

Doug's Captures Women's Softball Playoff Title

Doug's Tavern secured two wins over Woody's on Sunday at Peg LaVigne Field to claim the 2019 Playoff Championship of the Ogdensburg's Women's Softball League.

Top seeded Doug's rode the comeback trail and the express lane to claim the championship bouncing back from a 7-0 deficit to score to score a 17-8 victory on the strength an 11-run bottom of the sixth inning and then scoring an 8-3 win in the final game.

Third-seeded Woody's reached the finals with a 9-8 playback win over Currier's which eliminated second seeded Howie's earlier in the day.

Following the game Doug's was honored as the playoff champions, The Place and Woody's were cited as co-recipients of the Rene Robinson Memorial Sportsmanship Award and Brittany Kenyon of Woody's was recognized with the Bob Klein Memorial Award which goes to a player who shows outstanding sportsmanship and a special love for the game.

Doug's 18 - Woody's 3: Hannah Bowden scored three runs and Kari Lovely, Heather Johnson, Skye Sharpe and Yvonne Gibbs all scored twice for Doug's which pulled away with six runs in the fourth inning and four in the sixth. Angie Caufield, Kristie DeDekker and Brittany Kenyon all scored for Woody's.

Doug's 17 - Woody's 8: Chelsea Hargrave scored three times and along with Sarah Waite and Yvonne Gibbs reached base twice in Doug's 11-run sixth inning. Hannah Bowden, winning pitcher Casey Jones and Gibbs all scored twice.

Lori Garno, Kristie DeDekker, Austie Claxton and Brittany Kenyon all scored twice for Woody's which opened a 7-0 lead in the first two innings.

Woody's 9 - Currier's 8: Kristie DeDekker singled and scored after singles by Lori Garno, Austie Claxton, Brittany Kenyon and Emily Mitchell to tally the winning run in the bottom of the sixth inning. Farrell singled twice in the game, Garno lined three singles, Claxton delivered a double and two singles, Mitchell doubled and singled, Jessica Mitchell singled twice and Angie Caufield doubled for the winners.,

Mel Campbell homered and singled for Currier's and Kareen and Erica Bedford both singled twice.

Doug's Tavern won the playoff championship of the Ogdensburg Women's Softball League on Sunday. Sitting is Kari Lovely. Kneelig are: Casey Jones, Skye Sharpe. and Deanna Kenney. Standing are: Yvonne Gibbs, Chelsea Simmons, Emily Dishaw, Heather Johnson, Sarah Waite, Hannan Bowen and Chelsea Hargrave.

Ogdensburg Women's Softball League Preisdent Sherry Deloney presented the Renee Robinson Sportsmanship Award to members of the Place and Woody's on Sunday after the playoff championship game.

Ogdensburg Women's Softball League President Sherry Deloney presents the Bob Klein Memorial Award to Brittany Kenyon (right) of Woody's. The award is presented each year to honor a player who shows excellent sportsmanship and a true love of the game.

Brittany Kenyon of Woody's makes solid contact on Sunday.

Casey Jones of Doug's follows through on a hit in Sunday's title game.

Austi Claxton of Woody's snags a line drive on the mound.

Yvonne Gibbs of Doug''s beats a tag at thirdbase in Sunday's playoff title game.

162 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hammond Girls

HAMMOND 75 - MORRISTOWN 25 As expected the Red Devils used their length, depth, athleticism and game experience to take control with a 21-2 first quarter run and picked up from last year's run to the

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.