• davesheasports

Gouverneur, Canton Tie For Section 10 D2 Mat Title


In one of the closest finishes ever Gouverneur and Canton tied for the team championship at the Section 10 Division II Wrestling Championship and State Qualifying Tournament at OFA on Friday. Gouverneur and Canton tied for first place with 168 pounds and Malone finished one half point behind at 167.50. OFA placed fourth at 126.

"Canton definitely had strength in numbers and did a good job. We were a little down because of injuries. We entered nine wrestlers and seven won titles," said Gouverneur Coach Joel Baer.

"The guys wrestled well."

Canton is coached by Gouverneur Central graduate Dylan Morrison.

OFA earned the prestigious honor being chosen for the Team Sportsmanship Award by the Section 10 Officials Boards.

Three Blue Devils won championships on their own mats in Tristan Richardson at 145 pounds, Archie Green at 220 pounds and Brayden Wall at 106. Mitchel McCarthy (120), Rob Downey (126) and Adam Calton (132) placed second and Xavier Stewart placed third with a win in the consolation finals.

"Things went well today. Our three winners have worked hard. Blake Hall could have placed well today but suffered a knee injury in our last dual match," said OFA Coach Bill Mitchell.

Gouverneur's champions are: Zoe Griffith (99), Trayton Tupper (120), Vandavian Way (126), Carter Baer (138), Joseph Cummings (152), Tyler Tupper (170) and Jacob Shippee (182).

Earning sectional titles were Canton were Matt Haycook (113) and Connor House (195).

Malone Wrestlers winning titles and berths in the New York State Championships in

Albany in two weeks are: Lucas Martin (132), Alfred McNeil (160) and Brady Fountain (285).

Carter Baer of Gouverneur enters state action as Section 10's winningest active wrestler with a 134-16 record. Other state qualifiers with 100 wins are: Tristan Richardson (115-57), Joe Cummings (115-49), Alfred McNeill (113-51) and Trayton Tupper (132-64)


Team Totals: Gouverneur A 168, Canton A 168, Malone A 167.50, OFA 126, Canton B 28, Gouverneur B 25 and Malone B 10.


99: Zoe Griffith (G) pinned Chase White (Mal) 1:37. Third - Chase Curry (C).

106: Brayden Wall (O) dec Hunter Mashaw (G) 8-1, Third - Nicolas Locy (C).

113: Matt Haycook (C).

120: Trayton Tupper (G) 10-2 major decision over Mitchel McCarthy (O) 10-2. Third: David Zuhlsdorf (C) dec Drew Gates (G) 5-1.

126: Vandavian Way (G) pinned Rob Downey (O) 1:00.

132: Lucas Martin (Mal) major dec over Adam Calton (O) 13-4, Third: Connor Ramsey (C) pinned Erich Zuhlsdorf (C) :10.

138: Carter Baer (G) pinned Logan Robideau (Mal) 1:23. Third: Kobe Steorts (G).

145: Tristan Richardson (O) 16-2 major dec over Randy Clifford (C). Third Place: Izaiah Robideau (Mal) major dec Josh Guzman (C) 14-1.

152: Joseph Cummings (G) pinned Cayden Carter (Mal) 3:19. Third Place: Gage Dean (C).

160: Alfred MacNeil (Mal) pinned Hunter Blauvelt (C) 1:46. Third Place: Keenan Lebeouf-Davis pinned Mitchell Shippee (G) 5:24.

170: Tyler Tupper (G) pinned Alex Boyea (Mal) 1:17. Third Place: Xavier Stewart (G) dec Brian Nilette (Mal) 10-6.

182: Jacob Shippee (G) pinned Kaleb Hamilton (c) 1:48, Third: Isaac Cromp (Mal).

195: Connor House (C) pinned Barshier Robinson (Mal) 1:29.

220: Archie Green (O) pinned Cohl MacIntosh (C) 1:42.

285: Brody Fountain (Mal) pinned Dave Jewtraw (C) 2:53. Third - Joey George (O).

OFA's Archie Green presses toward a sectional title at 220 pounds.

Section 10 Championship Team headed for the New York State Division II Championships.

Section 10 Division II Co-Champions Gouverneur

OFA received the Team Sportsmanship Award from the Section 10 Officials Board.

175 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hammond Girls

HAMMOND 75 - MORRISTOWN 25 As expected the Red Devils used their length, depth, athleticism and game experience to take control with a 21-2 first quarter run and picked up from last year's run to the

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.