• davesheasports

Heuvelton Soccer Teams Honored At Awards Night


HEUVELTON - Both the Girls and Boys Soccer teams went through what would be called rebuilding seasons in the NAC West Division seasons this fall. Both teams stood out through their desire to improve and be competitive in tough divisions.

Both teams were cited for their efforts by their coaches and HCS Athletic Director Dave Steele as the school district held its Fall Sports Awards Night.

Both teams were also cited for academic excellence and for showing the promise for that rebuilding projects could come to fruition next fall.

Steele and the soccer coaches offered their thanks for the support the Bulldogs received from the school district's administration, the board of education, the parents and family of the players and the community as a whole.


Coach Gus Burns spoke a "tough season" for the Lady Bulldogs who finished at 4-8 in the NAC West and expressed that he was optimistic for next season for a program which won nine NAC West titles since 2003 produced a division MVP, and sometimes two, in 14 straight years.

"We can definitely turn things around," said Burns who thanked his assistant coach Emilee Ross and the school's custodian staff for giving Heuvelton the "best grass fields around".

Coach Burns presented five team awards honoring: Trista Ashley as the Most Improved Player, Paisley Forest as the Rookie of the Year, Second Team All-NAC West selection Bella Doyle as the Outstanding Team Player and Kaitlyn Sibley and First Team All-NAC West selection and four-year varsity player Megan Woodard as recipients of the Coaches Award.

Seniors In NAC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award recipient Rayna Cameron, Kaitlyn Sibley, Team Captain Sydney Morley and Megan Woodard all earned NAC Athletes of Distinction Awards for maintaining a 90 and above average throughout their athletic careers.

Also recognized for their efforts were: Leanne Dietschweiler, Lily Spooner, DaKota Mouthorp, Team Captain Grace Mills, Landry Lapiene, Dakota West, Emma LaFaver, Allison Trathen, Molly Williams, Amber Cunningham and Lara Martin.


First year HCS Varsity Coach Bruce Durrant also spoke of the future and the efforts of this year's team which will graduate only two seniors in Gavin Barney and Caleb Trathen.

"We are definitely going to miss Gavin and Caleb next season but with so many players returning we are excited to turn things around. We went 1-11 but there were so many losses which were anybody's games," said Coach Durrant.

"I was so proud of my team this year because they left everything on the field. They made my rookie year as a head varsity coach a phenomenal season."

Coach Durrant recognized goaltender Jed Crayford for earning Second Team All-NAC West honors, Cole Rickett for receiving the team's NAC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award and Caleb Trathen for qualifying an NAC Athlete of Distinction Award for maintaining a 90 and above average throughout his athletic career.

In presenting team awards he honored Dustin Dodd with the Hustle Award, Caleb Trathen with the Coach's Award, Braeden Free with the Outstanding Offensive Player Award, Jed Crayford with the Outstanding Defensive Player Award and Gavin Barney with the Man of Steele Award.

Also cited for their contribution s were: Brandon Pray, Nate Mashaw, Chris Ashlaw, Hunter Venette, Evan Felt, Josh Wrobel, Jordan Sawyer, Andrew Demers, Matt Basford, Gavin Murray and Jacob Martin.

The Heuvelton Boys Varsity Soccer team was honored for its efforts under the direction of Coach Bruce Durrant.

Coach Gus Burns honored his Heuvelton Central Girls Soccer team at the HCS Fall Sports Awards Night.

208 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


xA split of Sunday morning NAC interdivisional doubleheader with Potsdam gave Lisbon some momentum for next week's Section 10 Tournament where the Golden Knights will play in the Class C ranks for the

Heuvelton Lineup

Kathryn Cunningham94Rylin McAllister96Mikayla Ritchie108Chasity Johnson911Lily Spooner1112Amber Cunningham1216Molly Williams1218Dakota West1220Carley Simmons921Allison Trathen1023Lakan Martin924Lara M