• davesheasports

Knights Wins Darcy Tournament Title

Updated: Dec 9, 2019


LISBON - The first quarter was a struggle offensively for host Lisbon in the championship game of 22nd Annual James Darcy Memorial Boys Basketball Tournament as they matched with a Brushton-Moira team which attacked the basket from three-point range and off the dribble.

Lisbon Coach Bob Jordan had no answers for the Knights except to keep playing good team defense and improving the offensive execution.

"The way they can shoot threes we had to stay in the man to man and we had to eliminate mistakes on offense. We did that and as a coach there is nothing better then have a team face adversity and play through it," said Coach Jordan after the Knights turned the game around with a 17-0 run in the first half and turned back a series of B-M comeback bids in a 62-43 victory.

Harrisville also won its own tournament on Saturday with a 64-49 win over Beaver River and Edwards-Knox downed Morristown 66-32 in the consolation game. In one other game Malone downed Lyme 76-71.


The Knights outscored the Panthers 21-7 in the second quarter and maintained the lead by sharing the ball with very few turnovers and getting scoring bursts from Kaden Mussen who went 5-5 from the free throw line scoring a game-high 20 points, Teagan Jordan who scored eight of his 12 points in the second half and 11 points and 10 rebounds from guard Jackson LaRock who sealed the issue with two put backs and a steal in a matter of 25 seconds.

Karter Jordan tallied six points and was honored as the Tournament's MVP and was joined on the All-Tournament Team by Teagan Jordan, Brushton-Moira's Logan Bassett, Gouverneur's Stanlee Durham and Hammond's Brandon LaRock.

"Picking the all-tournament team was really tough because we had four guys who all played outstanding and made big plays. Karter Jordan played excellent defense and was a true leader," said Coach Jordan after Lisbon won the tournament for the first time since 2013.

"The way we turned it around with that 17-0 run was special. I am really proud of the guys."

Logan Bassett led B-M with 10 points followed by Justin Kennedy with nine, Eli Russell with six and Wayne Palmer and James Durrant with five. Ajay Martin added four points.

Lisbon also claimed the Junior Varsity title of the tournament and Gouverneur won the varsity consolation game.

Gouverneur 62 - Hammond 39: The Wildcats controlled the second half 32-19 sparked by 10 points from Stanlee Durham. Garrett LeClair led a balanced winning offense with 14 points and Connor Wood hit three 3s scoring 13 points. Caden Storie scored 10 points and Carter Simmons and Brock Cox each finished with six points. Cayden Stowell added a 3-pointer.

Lukas McQueer went 5-6 at the free throw line scoring 14 points for Hammond and Nate Jewett netted nine. Randy Durham and Logan Tate netted six and five points and Brandon LaRock and Kennon Gardner added three and two.


Lisbon defeated a very athletic Gouverneur team 43-18 in the JV Championship team by going a 25-3 run over the second and third quarters. Lisbon's Noah Martin was honored as the Most Valuable Player and Miles Gendebien was named to the All-Tournament Team along with Sully Rumble who led Gouverneur with 12 points, Andrew Matthews of Brushton-Moira and Dante Niles of Brushton-Moira.

“Sully Rumble worked very hard in the paint and kept us on our toes the entire game” said Lisbon Coach Blake Gendebien.

Three players led Lisbon with nine points each: Collin Parmeter, Noah Martin and Jayden Williams.

“Jayden Williams was like a cat under the basket. He had many successful put backs," said Coach Gendebien.

“Coach Ray LaRock and I are very proud of the way our team plays defense and continues to improve on the boards each game. We don’t need to ask the boys to work hard. They just have it in their hearts ".

Other Lisbon scoring came from: Coop Davidson (5), Storm Walker (2), Miles Gendebien (2) and Isaac LaRock (2).


Tournament MVP Nolan Parrow hit five shots, All-Tournament selection Nate Schmitt and William Taylor hit timely 3-points and Adam Szlamczyski scored seven points and grabbed 10 rebounds in the fourth quarter where Harrisville closed a 64-49 win with an 18-10 fourth quarter after Beaver River reeled off a 23-10 third quarter rally.

Parrow tallied 20 points with four 3s, Schmitt finished with 17 points and Szlamczynskidelivered 13 points and 15 rebounds. William Taylor netted three 3s in an 11-point effort and William Taylor added a three.

"Beaver River is a good team. We kept turning the ball over against their 3-2 zone in the thiord quarter. But we turned things around in the fourth where Adam Szlamczyski was all over the boards. He has grown to about 6-4 and he really learned a lot playing against Peyton Schmitt in practice last year," said Harrisville Coach Brian Coloney.

"We beat a good Beaver River team tonight without Jadon Sullivan who was still out with an injury. That says a lot about us."

Beaver River's All-Tournament selection Zack Maft led the Beavers with 21 points and scored 15 in the second half. Noah Zaire tallied 10 points and Brian Ardison dropped in eight.

E-K 66 - Morristown 32: All-Tournament selection Joey Hart scored 18 points, Tyler Scott tallied 15 and Avery Whitford scored 10 as E-K downed Morristown in the tournament's consolation game. Ray Cameron and Jordan Collette each scored six points.

Cael Woodcock earned All-Tournament honors for Morristown which was led in scoring by Parker Stout with 10 points and Kade Marshall with seven. Other scoring came from: Wyatt Sullivan (3), Masen LaPiene (2), Ashton Colby (3), Austin Colby (3) and Aaron Woodcock (4).

Lisbon won the Varsity Championship of the James Darcy Memorial Tournament on Saturday and received the first place trophy from Rusty Darcy. Members of Coach Bob Jordan's team are:Alex Martin, Karter Jordan, Kaiden Mussen, Teagan Jordan, Jayden Carr, Ethan Martin, Jackson LaRock, Hayden McBath, Hayes Buchey, Greg Wood, Hunter Martin, manager Ireland Jordan and General Manager Brent Sullivan.

Lisbon coached by Blake Gendebien and Ray LaRock won the JV title of the 22nd annual James Darcy Memorial Tournament. Rusty Darcy presented toe first place trophy to players: Matt Kinney, Eric Parmeter, Miles Gendebien, Colin Parmeter, Storm Walker, Griffin Walker, Noah Martin, Hayden Williams, Isaac LaRock, Cooper Davison, Keghan Power, Alex Vesel and General Manager Brent Sullivan.

475 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


xA split of Sunday morning NAC interdivisional doubleheader with Potsdam gave Lisbon some momentum for next week's Section 10 Tournament where the Golden Knights will play in the Class C ranks for the

Heuvelton Lineup

Kathryn Cunningham94Rylin McAllister96Mikayla Ritchie108Chasity Johnson911Lily Spooner1112Amber Cunningham1216Molly Williams1218Dakota West1220Carley Simmons921Allison Trathen1023Lakan Martin924Lara M