• davesheasports

Moose Goes Distance To Gain See-Way Slo-Pitch Title Sweep

Updated: Aug 11, 2019

The Moose Lodge won the playoff championship of the See-Way Slo-Pitch Softball Assocation on Saturday. Kneeling from left are: Bill Durham, Joe Brenno and Nate Beaulieu. Standing are: Offensive MVP Justin Martel, Norm Martel, Zach Amo, Josh Lassial, Shawn Knapp, Rob Anderson, Bill Payne and General Manager Paul Bartman.


Opening an 18-5 lead after three innings the Moose Lodge cruised to a 25-9 victory in a decisive final game of the See-Way Slo-Pitch Men's Softball League playoff tournament on Saturday. The Moose (formerly Nig's Tavern) rebounded from a 13-12 win by the Bowl II to send the tournament to a final winner-take-all game and win their fourth playoff title in the past six years.

The also placed first in a close regular season race.

The Moose downed Bowl II earlier in the day to advance to the finals and the Bowl II, which won the 2018 championship, defeated Sipps in the playback finals to move on to the title matchup.

In the first two games of of the day Howie's downed Mack's and Sipps downed Ogdensburg Bowl. Sipps also advanced with a win over Howie's.

Following the game Justin Martel of the Moose Lodge was honored as the Offensive MVP of the Playoffs and Bowl II outfielder Justyn Martel was selected as the Defensive MVP by the umpires who worked the tournament.

Moose 25 - Bowl II 9: Joe Brenno belted a homerun and four singles and pitched the win for the Moose who also received four singles from Bill Durham, a double and two singles by Shawn Knapp. a double and two singles by Justin Martel, four singles from Norm Martel and a double and a single by Nate Beaulieu and Bill Payne.

Justyn McCormick trapped a triple, a double and a single for the Bowl II a double. Two singles by Brandon Mullin, two doubles from Jared Barr, a double and single by Jon Tayler and two singles by Jackson Jones also aided the Bowl II cause significantly.

Bowl II 13 - Moose 12: A two-run homerun by Jon Tayler (homerun, single) in the sixth inning proved to be the difference for the Bowl II which secured the win after the Moose scored four runs in the bottom of the seventh and loaded the bases.

John Denio led the winners with a double and two singles and Brandon Mullin, Justyn McCormick and Matt Snodgrass each singled three times. Jackson Jones doubled and singled, Andrew Roddy singled twice and Kenny Stull doubled.

Justin Martel rapped a homerun and two singles for the Moose Lodge and Zach Amo drilled a triple and two singles. Bill Payne singled three times, Bill Durham doubled and singled and Avery Love, Josh Lassial and Joe Brenno all added two singles.

The Bowl II placed second in the See-Way Slo-Pitch Softball Playoff Tournament on Saturday. In from are Andrew Riddy, Defensive MVP Justyn Martel and Jared Barr. Back row: Matt Snodgrass, John Denio, John Tayler, Brandon Mullin and Justyn McCormick. Missing are: Kenny Stull, Jackson Jones and Jake Adner.

Brandon Mullin of the Bowl II tages out Zach Amo of the Moose Lodge at third in the final game of the Swee-Way Slo-Pitch Softball Tournament on Saturday.

Justin Martel follows through on a long drive for the Moose Lodge in Saturday's final game of the See-Way Slo-Pitch Softball Playoffs.

Jackson Jones of the Bowl II slides into third as Bill Durham of the Moose Lodge chases a low throw.

455 views0 comments

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.