© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.

  • davesheasports

NAC Cheerleading Awards Presented

The Section 10 Cheerleading Championships climaxed with the presentation of All-Northern Conference Awards and team awards to the Large Team, Small Team and Co-Ed Division to the top finishers at the sectionals.

All three divisions produced the closest finishes in the sixth years of Competitive Cheerleading in Section 10.

OFA edged Lisbon for Large Team honors, Heuvelton placed first in the Small Team Division followed by Gouverneur and Malone and Madrid-Waddington prevailed in the Co-Ed Division followed by Edwards-Knox and Clifton-Fine.

Individual awards were presented for First and Second Team All-NAC, seniors who qualified for the Athletes of Academic Distinction Awards and Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards.


Outstanding Sportsmanship: Kaylie Aguirre (B-M), Emily Heiland (C-F), Leah French (E-K), Victoria Crossman (Malone), Kayla Hocking (G), Kara Ashlaw (Heuvelton), Megan Perry (L), Meredith White (M-W), Isabelle Powers (O) and Rachel Barse (Morr).

Athletes of Distinction: Chadra Crane, Emily Holland and Melanie Peabody of Clifton-Fine; Leah French of Edwards-Knox, Hillary Cook and Taylor D'Agostino of Gouverneur. Kara Ashlaw, Sydney Morley and Megan Woodard of Heuvelton. Gabrielle Kroeger, Maya Randle and Amanda Walker of of Lisbon. Julia Domena of Madrid-Waddington. Briane Lane, Olivia Burke and Michaela Wendler of Malone. Evelyn Arras, Melissa Barr, Ryle Bresett, Erin Perretta and Hailey Weber of of Ogdensburg Free Academy. Madison Frary and Kassidy Gardner of St. Lawrence Central. Rachel Barse of Morristown.

Second Team All-NAC: Amanda Walker (L), Rachel Barse (Mor), Morgan Wheat (E-K), Brittlyn Lewis (Mal), Destiny Seiler (B-M), Rylee Bresset (O), Marissa Hawkins (M-W), Sabrina Osuch (H), Melanie Peabody (C-F), Hillary Cook (G).

First Team All-NAC: Riley Baxter (L), Hannah Hotaling (E-K), Brianne Lane (Mal), Melissa Barr (O), Sadie O'Neil (O), Cassidy Hargrave (M-W), Kassidy Roberts (M-W), Sydney Morley (H), Lindsey Barnett (Heuv), Michaela Chartrand (C-F).

Coach of the Year: Danielle Armstrong (M-W).

First Team All-NAC Cheerleading Selections

All-NAC Second Team Cheerleading selections

NAC Cheerleading Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards

NAC Cheerleading Senior Athletes of Academic Distinction Awards.