• davesheasports

New Coaches Lead Morristown Hoop Teams

Updated: Nov 30, 2019

MORRISTOWN - The Morristown Boys and Girls Basketball teams are both looking for much improved seasons as they open 2019-20 play in nonleague action on Saturday. The Rocket Boys will host Thousand Islands with the junior varsity action starting at 11 a.m. while the Lady Rockets will travel to Alex Bay for a duel of two riverside school districts which will begin with JV at 12:30 p.m.

Both teams will be led by first year coaches.

Wes Schofell moves up from the JV level to succeed Larry Kanaly at the helm of the Boys Program and Stan Piercey has succeeded Vanessa Ross as the head of the Girls Program.

The Morristown Boys open NAC West play on Wednesday visiting Lisbon. The Rockets will also host Parishville-Hopkinton, Hammond and Hermon-DeKalb in the first annual Jeff Stout Memorial Tournament on Dec. 20-21.

The Lady Rockets will host Sackets Harbor, Hammond and Lisbon in the Morristown Turkey Shootout next Friday and Saturday.


"We are going to be a young team with five sophomores and four juniors. We have good athletes and we will be stressing the basics to start the season," said Coach Stan Piercey who has coached Morristown youth basketball teams for several years and also serves as assistant coach for the MCS Varsity Girls Soccer Team. He will be assisted by Mike Crosby.

The juniors on the team are forward Riley Showers who received the NAC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award last season, centers Grace Willis and Kassidy Sullivan and guard-forward Hailey Ward.

Sophomore performers are: guard-forward Carly Piercey, guard-forward Emma Showers, guard Mia Johnson, center-forward Kaitlyn Ladlee and guard-forward Kaley Dulmage.

Several of the Lady Rockets have already gained varsity experience in basketball, soccer and softball.


Seven seniors will lead the first varsity unit guided by Wes Schofell.

"The guys are working hard. They want to move forward," said Coach Schofell who played for an OFA team which reached the New York State Class B Final Four under Coach Bill Merna.

The senior members of the team are center Cael Woodcock, guard Austin Colby, forward Ashton Colby, forward Carson Beggs, forward Matt Wright and center Masen LaPiene.

Juniors are: guard Kade Marshall, forward Parker Stout, guard Wyatt Sullivan, forward Travis Stark, guard Hector Mendez Hernandez and guard Tanner Ritchie.

Guard Aaron Woodcock is the lone sophomore on the team.

Carson Beggs Ashton Colby Austin Colby Masen LaPiene Kade Marshall Hector Mendez Hernandez Tanner Ritchie Tristin Simmons Travis Stark II Austin Stark Parker Stout Wyatt Sullivan Cael Woodcock Matthew Wright.

293 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mills 652, Fishbeck's 603 Lead Oswegatchie League

Heuvelton Oswegatchie League Week 26: Armstrong’s 75-29, Shady Brook Farms 69-35, WWV 65-39, Stanton’s 47-57, Casey’s 47-57 Highlights: Dawn Mills 234(652), Vicki Fishbeck 223(603), Myrna Wells 222(56

N-N Boys, Massena Girls Stay Unbeaten On Ice

The Norwood-Norfolk Boys (3-0) and the Massena Girls (2-0) continued unbeaten starts to the Northern Conference Hockey season on Monday night. N-N 10 - Potsdam 1: Bobby Voss scored three goals with on

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.