• davesheasports

OFA Girls Face B-P In Volleyball Regionals Today


OFA (Class B), Canton (Class C), Massena (Class A) and Chateaugay (Class D) will be be headed to Section 2 sites to compete in the New York State Tournament regional Thursday evening. The winners of tonight's matches will head to Plattsburgh on Saturday for the regional finals and a berth in thew New York State Final 4 in Glens Falls.

OFA and Canton will play in a doubleheader at Gloversville High School.

OFA meets Section 2 Class B Champion Broadalbin-Perth at 5:30 p.m. and Canton faces Class C Champion Lake George at 7:30 p.m. In a twinbill at Burnt Hills-Balston Lake Chateaugay meets Class D Champion Galway at 5:30 p.m. and Massena meets Class A Champion Burnt Hills-Balston Lake.

Section 10 teams have increased their preparation for state play by increased tournament play in recent seasons.

OFA enters state play after winning the NAC West Division title and repeating as Section 10 Class B champions with a four-set victory over Salmon River where Coach Sue McLean credited her team putting together an effort where every player rendered a season-best effort.

The Devils were defeated by Canton in straight sets in the Overall Section 10 semi-finals and Canton went on to the finals and fell short in an intense five-set match with Massena. Massena advanced past Chateaugay in the other semi-final match.

Coach McLean is looking for her OFA team to bounce to bounce back through a tenacity which the Lady Devils have shown all season, the ability to rise to occasion together and the ability to keep consistent hitting and blocking throughout their rotations. According to McLean the key for the Devils is to attack on every possession against a very talented opponent.

She calls her team's tenacity the "OFA Blue Collar Mentality" and the commitment to fight back against adversity no matter what the score. Leading the Devils' quest to break through what as has been very formidable hurdle of winning over a Section 2 champion is a strong cast of leaders.

Middle hitter Rosie Jeneault and outside hitter Emily Farrand both earned All-NAC West First Team honors and a very versatile outside hitter-setter in Celia Henry and libero Melissa Barr both earned All-NAC Second Team honors. Henry also earned the team's NAC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award.

Jeneault was also a finalist for the Patti Baldwin Memorial Award which is presented to the NNY Officials Board to the Outstanding Girls Volleyball Player in Section 10. The award went to Potsdam's Jackie Butler.

Other members of the of the nine person squad are: primary setter Jordyn Tupper, middle-outside hitter Abby Raven, outside hitter-setter Emma LeBeau, middle hitter Gabby Morley and right hitter Jenna Mitchell who excells as a situational server. Moving up from the junior varsity team for the postseason were: setter-hitter Aubrey Love, setter-hitter Mallory Morley and setter-hitter-libero Tristen Duvall.

After a fourth-place finish at last season's Class B state championships, the Broadalbin-Perth girls volleyball team took its first step toward a return trip to the tournament in the Section 2 Tournament. Top-seeded Broadalbin-Perth claimed a second-straight Section 2 Class B championship sweeping past second-seeded Academy of the Holy Names 25-11, 30-28, 25-17 on Saturday at Saratoga Springs High School. The Lady Patroits (17-1) placed fourth in last year's state tournament and all but one starter returned for the current campaign.

Sophia Rogers led the Lady Patriots with 12 kills, while Eliana Fraser added nine kills and six digs and Lily Mitchell chipped in with 22 assists and eight digs. Sydney Rogers added six kills, three aces and 10 digs to go with three aces and six digs from Kelsey Hinderliter.

NOTE: A public send off will be held for the OFA team on Thursday morning at 9:45 a.m. from the Golden Dome parking lot. The team bus will travel up State Street to Ford Street to Patterson Street and on to the long trip to Gloversville.


All-NAC West First Team: MVP - Emily Smith (Potsdam), Marissa Hawkins (Madrid-Waddington), Rosie Jeneault and Emily Farrand (OFA), Gretchen Warner (Canton) and Jackie Butler (Potsdam).

Coach of Year: Angelina Converse of Potsdam.

All NAC West Second Team: Melissa Barr and Celia Henry (OFA), Madlyn Richardson (Madrid-Waddington), Emma French (Potsdam), Kelsea Whittier (Canton) and Sydney Lorenc (Canton).

All NAC East First Team: MVP - Rylie Gray (Salmon River) Makenzie Lane (Malone), Ayana Adams (Chateaugay), Anna Thompson and Delany Durant (Massena) and Alexis Monette (Chateaugay).

Coaches of the Year: Michelle Thomas of Malone and Chris Reynolds of Chateaugay.

All NAC East Division Second Team: Brynn LaPage (Brushton-Moira), Sierah LaValley (Tupper Lake), Madison Major (Malone), Tsiakoserio David and Olivia Morrell (Massena) and Tayana Benedict (Salmon River).

Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards: Ethan Mulvderhill (Brushton-Moira), Chloe Boyea (Chateaugay), Brookde Myers (Malone), Abigail Enham (Massena), Kendall Jock (Salmon River) and Elaina Daniels (Tupper Lake).

Athletes of Distinction: Grace Manning and Samantha Turner of Gouverneur, Kathleen Bateman, Julia Cochrane, Eve Higginson and Sarah Weaver of Madrid-Waddington; Melissa Barr, Celia Henry and Rosie Jeneault of OFA; Kathrine Betrus, Emma French, Emily Smith, Shannon Todd of Potsdam and Kelsea Whittier, Gretchen Warner, Sydney Lorenc, Grace Franklin, Rorie Newman and Gabby Roth of Canton.

Leading Coach Sue McLean's OFA Girls Volleyball into regional play on Thursday will be four All-NAC West performers in Celia Henry, Emily Farrand, Melissa Barr and Rosie Jeneault

314 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.