© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.

  • davesheasports

OFA, Heuvelton Lead Battle of Bands Before Huge Crowd


Ogdensburg Free Academy and Heuvelton Central rose to the head of the field at the 2019 Ogdensburg Seaway Festival Battle of the Bands before a massive crowd at the OFA Multi-Sport Stadium on Sunday night.

As the only Class A team in the field the Marching Blue Devils took scoring honors with 86.925 points and Heuvelton outscored Lisbon 84.417-83.842 for Class B honored and also received the prestigious Ogdensburg Pepsi Bottlers Espirit De Corps Trophy.

The Bulldogs will have their name engraved on the trophy and will keep the trophy until next year's Battle of the Bands. Gouverneur Central took Class C honors outscoring Morristown 74.23-72.41.

The teams will compete again on Saturday at the Ogdensburg International Seaway Festival Parade.

OFA also took scoring hon ors in Highest Musical Analysis at 31.125 out of 40 and Highest General Effect Scoring at 28.1 out of 30.

The Marching Blue Devils under the direction of Jon Cole are performing the three of the Circus is in Town with music from the Greatest Showman.

The bands Twirling Rifles and Flags Instructor and choreographer is Ruthanne Middlemiss, Alyssa LaCombe-Brown is the Percussion and Band Assistant and Alex Sias is the Circus Crew Assistant.

The Blue Devils are led by Drum Majorette Maddie Woods and Trumpet Soloists Michaela Powers and Paige Shaver. June graduates completing their careers arew: Maddi Woods, Gerald Sovie, Cody George, Alex Henry, Jordan Sovie, Nick LaCombe, Jolie Cutwa, Rhian Dunham, Desirae Graveline, Alex LaCombe, Nate McNally, Carmine Menza, Carolyn Wright and Logan Brooks.

Heuvelton's summer show is "Breaking New Ground: The Best of Broadway in the last 25 Years."

The Bulldogs perform under the direction of Jamie Roscoe and Color Guard Instructors Frankoe Jo Besio and Emily Basford and are led by Majorette Madison McCormick. Numbers include "Seize the Day, Seasons of Love, My Shot and Defying Gravity. The Bulldogs' music is arranged by John McFarland, Megan Montpetit, Jaci Robinson and Aom Sinonpat.

The evening also featured an entertaining halftime show from a combined reunion of the Roethel's Executives and the Chaparrals Drum and Bugle Corps and an explosive performance by DownBeats Percussion who are the official drum corps of the Buffalo Bills.

A complete list of the Battle of the Bands Awards which were presented by representatives of Ogdensburg Pepsi Cola Bottlers follows.



Best American Flag Line: Heuvelton, Morristown, Lisbon, Gouverneur OFA.

Best Colorguard Twirling Flags: Lisbon, Heuvelton, Gouverneur, OFA, Morristown.

Best Colorguard Rifles&Batons: Heuvelton, Lisbon, OFA, Gouverneur, Morristown.

Best Percussion: Lisbon, Heuvelton, OFA, Morristown, Gouverneur

Best Horn Line: OFA, Heuvelton, Gouverneur, Lisbon, Morristown

Best Soloist: OFA First Trumpet Soloist Michaela Powers, OFA Bells, OFA Second Trumphet Soloist Paige Shaver.

Best Drum Majorette: Lisbon (Abby Hollis), Heuvelton (Madison McCormick), Morristown (Liberty Montroy), Gouverneur, OFA (Maddie Woods).

Best Mascot: OFA, Heuvelton.

Best Woodwinds" OFA, Lisbon, Morristown, Heuvelton, Gouverneur.

Best Ensemble: Heuvelton Trumpet Quintet, Heuvelton Trumphet Quintet, Lisbon Percussion, Heuvelton Percussion, Lisbon Quartet.

Highest March And Maneuvering: Heuvelton 29.067 out of 30.

Highest General Effect Score: OFA 28.1 out of 30.

Highest Musical Analysis Score: OFA 31.125 out of 40.

CLASS C: Gouverneur Central 74.23, Morristown 72.41.

Class B: Heuvelton 84.417, Lisbon 83. 842.

Class A: OFA 86.925.

Ogdensburg Pepsi Cola Bottlers Espirit De Corps Award: Heuvelton Central.

Bonnie Wright and a group of young Ogdensburg Pepsi family members present the Pepsi Cola Ogdensburg Bottlers Espirit De Corps Trophy to Heuvelton Majorette Madison McCormick.

OFA's Madison Woods and band mascot accept the Class A First Place Trophy after the Marching Blue Devils posted the highest score of the Night at Sunday's Battle of the Bands.

Gouverneur receives the Class C Championship Trophy from Ogdensburg Pepsi representatives.