• davesheasports

OFA/SMA Hall Of Fame Inducts Second Class On Friday

The OFA/SMA Hall of Fame will induct their 2nd class on Friday Sept. 27th.

A social hour will take place with light refreshments from 4:00 to 5:00 in the OFA gym.

Memorabilia will be displayed. Please feel free to bring items to add to the display. 

The induction ceremony will start at 5:00 in the OFA auditorium.

HOF inductees will be honored on the field at halftime of the Gouverneur - OFA football game.

There is no cost for the evening but contributions to insure the continued operation of

the Hall of Fame will be accepted and appreciated.

A post induction reception will take place at the Ogdensburg Moose Club 609 Pickering Street.

2019 Inductees into the OFA/SMA  Hall of Fame:


Dr. Robert Hentschel Class of '52

Jim Blake Class of '64

Joe Jones Class of '70

Tom Lightfoot Class of '70

Bob LeBeau Class of '73

Becky [Skelly] Wassus Class of '74

Lisa Boyer Class of '75

May Ferguson Class of '75

Kelley Geary  Class of '75


1964 OFA Boys Basketball

1970 OFA Boys Basketball

1971 OFA Boys Basketball

1974 OFA Girls Basketball

1975 OFA Girls Basketball


Jim Pinkerton


Steve LaRose

Dave Shea

Five basketball teams will enter the OFA/SMA Hall of Fame this year on Friday Sept. 27th.

This is the second class to enter the HOF and covers the years up to 1975.

1964 OFA Boys Basketball: The Blue Devils were 20-2 Northern League Regular Season and Playoff Champs. They were also Section 10 Overall Champs [Class A-B] and were the last hoops team Slim Elliott coached. Mike Langstaff and Jim Blake were the Co-Captains. Ed Mitchell [1st team] & Jim Blake [2nd team] made All-Northern.

1970 OFA Boys Basketball: The Blue Devils 20-0 as only the third team in 54 years of the Northern League play to go undefeated. This was the year after SMA closed and meet fulfilled high expectations winning the Northern League Regular Season and Playoff Championships and becoming Section 10 Division III Champs.

Joey Jones was Captain of the Bob Hollembaek coached team and Jones and Jon Nystrom [1st Team] Tom Lightfoot and Don Tulip [2nd team] made All-Northern. Only had one game closer than 19 points which came at Chateaugay in a four-point decision. The team ranked 10th in final NYS Sportswriters poll - one ranking for all NYS teams

1971 OFA Boys Basketball: The 19-1 Northern League Regular Season and Section 10 A Champs were part of a 41-game winning streak and were the final team coached by Bob Hollembaek. Don Tulip was the team's captain and made First Team All-Northern along with Rob Winter. Harry Garvey [3rd team] also made All-Northern

1974 OFA Girls Basketball: The 12-0 Northern League and Section 10 Champs became the first undefeated girls team in Section 10 and first at OFA since 1970 Boys Basketball team. Ruth Nichols and Becky Skelly co-captained Coach Penny (Raftis) Sharrow's team. Junior May Ferguson was the high scorer and Team MVP, Senior Becky Skelly lead the team in assists. Junior Lisa Boyer was the top rebounder and junior Peg Langley was honored as the Most Improved Player.There was no recognition for Girls All- Northern at that time.

May Ferguson, Lisa Boyer and Becky Skelly will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame as individual athletes and will be the first female individual athletes selected.

1975 OFA Girls Basketball: The 10-2 Northern League A Champs, coached by Penny (Raftis) Sharrow broke the OFA girls basketball record for points in a game with 72 points and were part of a 19 game win streak. Lisa Boyer and May Ferguson made 1st team on the First All-Northern Girls Basketball awards and were the team's co-captains and honored as Co-MVPs..

Lisa Boyer was the team's high scorer, May Ferguson led the team in assists and Peg Langley led the team in rebounds and was honored as Most Improved Player.

A brief bio on the inductees and a list of the 2018 inductees 

can be found on Facebook at "OFA/SMA Hall of Fame".

A video of the 2018 induction ceremony is on the school district's

website at  under "District Headlines & Features".

Click "More" at the bottom of the page and scroll down.


Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.