• davesheasports

OFA Track-Field Team Recognized For Excellence


The OFA Indoor Track-Field was honored for outstanding achievements in competition and in the classroom during the Northern Conference season. See photos below.


Seniors Alex Pinkerton, Rosie Jeneault, Conner Smith, Gerard Powers, Cody Fifield and Bailey Benware received Athlete of Distinction Awards for maintaining a 90 and above throughout their high school careers.

Several members of both teams also received NAC All-Academic Awards for maintaining a 90 or above average during the track-field season and were honored with New York State Scholar-Athlete Team pins.

Team awards on the Girls Team were presented to Lexi Beaulieu as the MVP for scoring the most points during the season, Emma Lalone and Abby Guasconi (missing from Photo) as the recipients of the Coaches' Awards, Rosie Jeneault for Excellence in the Field and Azelynn Richardson for Excellence in Running.


While competing for the OFA Track-Field and Volleyball teams, Jeneault also balanced a career in girls-women's hockey playing defence for the Napean Wildcats Intermediate AA Program of Excellence Women's Hockey team coached by Bruce MacDonald. During the track-field season she committed to play NCAA Division I Hockey for Brown University of the Ivy league.

The Wildcats Intermediate AA team competes in the Provincial Women’s Hockey league. The Provincial Women's Hockey League (or PWHL) is a Junior women's ice hockey league in Ontario, Canada that was founded in 2004. It is considered to be the highest level of junior women's amateur ice hockey in Ontario, and is sanctioned by Hockey Canada and the Ontario Women's Hockey Association.

The PWHL provides alumni to the Canadian Interuniversity Sport (USPORTS), National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) the Professional Women's Hockey League, as well as the Canada women's national ice hockey team.


Junper Trey LaBella, who placed second in the triple jump at the Section 10 Championships and competed in the state meet ,was honored as the MVP (high scorer) of the Boys Team and Luc LaFlair was honored with the Coaches' Award.

LaFlair went undefeated in the shot put and competed in the state meet in his senior and junior season and was honored by the NNY Track-Field Officials with the Jon Hazen Memorial as the Outstanding Male Performer. He was unable to match his personal best of 48-7 at the states but placed 16th out of 26 throwers with a heave of 46-10.

LaFlair, who has committed to Brockport State University for football and track-field, also received the Section 10 Sportsmanship Award at the states.

LeBella was unable to match his 39-06.50 in the sectionals and took 16th in the states with a 37-03.52 jump.

Matt Goolden, who set a school record in the 60 hurdles, received the Most Improved Performer Award and Conner Smith received the Pat Barr Memorial Award for excellence in the sprint events.

Members of the OFA Girls Track-Team's NYS Scholar-Athlete Team Award contingent. (Diane Jeneault Photos)
Team Awards and NAC Awards were presented to members of the OFA Indoor Track-Field Teams.

The OFA Boys Track-Field Team earned the distinction of producing a NYS Scholar-Athlete Team contingent.

Six members of the OFA Indoor T-F teams received NAC Athlete of Distinction Awards.


© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.