• davesheasports

OFA Wrestlers Complete NAC Season In 2 Matches

The OFA Wrestling team completed its Northern Conference season on Wednesday hosting Canton and Massena in a preview for Feb. 14 when the Devils will host the Section 10 Championships. After the Devils (0-8) suffered a 54-25 loss to Canton (6-2) and a 42-24 setback to Massena (3-5) Coach Bill Mitchell looked ahead to a week of intense practices.

"We have a lot of work to do. We have to get better," said Mitchell.

In one other match held Wednesday Gouverneur (7-0) trimmed Malone 33-30 to clinch the NAC title and extend a 12-season winning streak to 102.

Brayden Wall, Mitchell McCarthy and Tristan Richardson all went 2-0 on the night for OFA. Blake Hall posted a win against Canton but suffered a knee injury against Massena. Xavier Stewart and Adam Calton went 1-1 on the night.

Scoring pins for Massena were: Mac LaPage, Bailey O'Leary, Nathan Rourke, Colden Hardy and Rocco Ferriero. Scoring pins for Canton were: Gage Dean, Hunter Blauvelt, Connor House, Cohl McIntosh, Brock Francis.

Gouverneur pins against Malone came from Carter Baer, Joe Cummings and Tyler Tupper and Hunter Mashaw won by decision. Malone's bid to stop Gouverneur's win streak came from Alfred MacNeill, Alex Boyea, Lucas Martin and Logan Robideau who won by fall and Alex Recore who won by decision.


Massena 42.0 OFA 24.0 160: Mac LaPage (MSH) over Dylan Moran (OFAH) (Fall 0:42) 170: Xavier  Stewart (OFAH) over   (MSH) (For.) 182: Double Forfeit 195: Roy Gamble (MSH) over Blake Hall (OFAH) (Inj. [time]) 220: Bailey O`Leary (MSH) over Archie Green (OFAH) (Fall 0:14) 285: Nathan Rourke (MSH) over Joey George (OFAH) (Fall 0:09) 99: Double Forfeit 106: Brayden Wall (OFAH) over   (MSH) (For.) 113: Double Forfeit 120: Mitchel McCarthy (OFAH) over Mason Phillips (MSH) (Fall 3:59) 126: Colden Hardy (MSH) over Robert Downey (OFAH) (Fall 0:55) 132: Rocco Ferriero (MSH) over Adam Calton (OFAH) (Fall 1:34) 138: Ethan Donnelly (MSH) over   (OFAH) (For.) 145: Tristan Richardson (OFAH) over   (MSH) (For.) 152: Double Forfeit


Canton 54.0 - OFA 25.0 152: Gage Dean (CAHS) over Dylan Moran (OFAH) (Fall 2:03) 160: Keenan LeBoeuf-Davis (CAHS) over   (OFAH) (For.) 170: Hunter Blauvelt (CAHS) over Xavier  Stewart (OFAH) (Fall 1:50) 182: Blake Hall (OFAH) over Brandon Murcray  (CAHS) (Fall 3:49) 195: Kaleb Hamiliton (CAHS) over   (OFAH) (For.) 220: Connor House (CAHS) over Archie Green (OFAH) (Fall 3:52) 285: Cohl McIntosh (CAHS) over Joey George (OFAH) (Fall 2:21) 99: Noah Curry (CAHS) over   (OFAH) (For.) 106: Brayden Wall (OFAH) over Nicholas Locy (CAHS) (Fall 1:15) 113: Matt Haycook (CAHS) over   (OFAH) (For.) 120: Mitchel McCarthy (OFAH) over David Zuhlsdorf (CAHS) (Dec 4-3) 126: Brock Francis (CAHS) over Robert Downey (OFAH) (Fall 5:07) 132: Adam Calton (OFAH) over Erich Zuhlsdorf (CAHS) (Fall 0:18) 138: Double Forfeit 145: Tristan Richardson (OFAH) over Randy Clifford  (CAHS) (MD 10-0).


Gouverneur 39.0 - Malone 33.0 145: Carter Baer (GSH) over Izaiah Robideau (MAHS) (Fall 0:30) 152: Cummings Joseph (GSH) over Cayden Carter (MAHS) (Fall 2:57) 160: Alfred  MacNeill (MAHS) over Jacob Corcoran (GSH) (Fall 1:33) 170: Alex Boyea (MAHS) over Mitchell Shippee (GSH) (Fall 2:33) 182: Tyler Tupper (GSH) over Isaac Cromp (MAHS) (Fall 0:34) 195: Jacob Shippee (GSH) over   (MAHS) (For.) 220: Double Forfeit 285: Brody Fountain (MAHS) over   (GSH) (For.) 99: Hunter Mashaw (GSH) over Chase White (MAHS) (Dec 7-1) 106: Zoe Griffith (GSH) over   (MAHS) (For.) 113: Double Forfeit 120: Alex Recore (MAHS) over Drew Gates (GSH) (Dec 13-6) 126: Trayton Tupper (GSH) over   (MAHS) (For.) 132: Lucas Martin (MAHS) over Vandavian Way (GSH) (Fall 0:43) 138: Logan Robideau (MAHS) over Kobe Steorts (GSH) (Fall 4:38)

OFA's Mitchell McCarthy controls this sequence of Wednesday's 4-3 win over Canton's Davide Zuhlsdorf.


Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.