• davesheasports

Ogd. Pee Wee Cs, Bantams Win Hazen Titles


The much anticipated ice storm of 2020 did not reach the expected level on Sarturday night in the Ogdensburg area.

But the Ogdensburg Minor Hockey Bantams generated a tempest of offense on the ice at the Edgar Newell Memorial Golden Dome on Sunday to defeat the Kemptville Royals 6-2 and win an emotional championship of the 30th annual Mike Hazen Memorial Hockey Tournament.

A huge contingent of the Hazen Family and family friends were on hand for the milestone edition of the tournament which honored the memory of Mike Hazen's mother Michelle who passed away in July.

Host Ogdensburg Minor Hockey also celebrated a Pee Wee C Championship in an outstanding 1-0 win over Thousand Islands and the local Squirts reached the title game losing 8-1 to another outstanding Thousand Islands squad.

Two strong Canadian teams met in the Pee Wee C finals with Leitrim besting Arnprior 5-1.

Following the Bantam championship game Ogdensburg Minor Hockey held its annual awards presentation in impressive fashion.

Dylan Irvine was received the Mike Hazen Memorial Outstanding Bantam Award. Robert Ashley received the Mike Hazen Memorial Distinquished Service to Ogdensburg Minor Hockey Award for contributions as coach, fund-raiser and association officer and the Mike Hazen/Chad LaFlair Spirit of Friendship Award went to Jacob Jeneault for his many years of contributions to the tournament and youth hockey as a coach and official.

The Gwenn and Frank Barr Memorial Scholarship Award was presented to Macgregor Perretta and the first annual Michelle Hazen Memorial Scholarship Award went to Logan Wilson.

Following the Squirt Championship Game the Scott Farrand Memorial Sportsmanship Award was presented to Colin Woods (see related story and photos on the awards presentations).


After allowing two goals in the first 1:13 of the game the Ogdensburg Bantams outscored Kemptville 6-1 with four unanswered goals in the third period to reverse a 2-1 loss on Friday.

"We got to a slow start on Friday and today we committed two turnovers which allowed them to score two easy goals. But we turned it around and our checking was very good. This is a good group of hockey players," said Ogdensburg Coach Rick Jacobs who assisted by Paul Wert, Mike Ramsdell, Mike Blevins and David Doyle.

The Bantams needed to overcome an outstanding 33-save performance by Royals' goaltender Garth Robinson. Ogdensburg's first year Bantam goalie Ty Jacobs used his quickness to make several outstanding stops in an 18-save performance.

Nathan Woods delivered two goals and two assists in the comeback including a close range goal just before the buzzer of the second period where Griffin Wert and Dylan Irvine picked up assists. Jack Mills figured in three of the four third period goals with two goals and one assist and Chad Bruyere netted what proved to be the winning goal from Drew Blevins.

Mills netted the insurance fifth goal from Woods and and then set up Woods for a shot into the empty net after Kemptville pulled its goalie for an extra attacker.

Cory Evans and Brayden Lockwood scored for the Royals in the first period off assists from Jesse Pynn and Jeremy McGahey and Lochian Brown scored from Gareth Lawrence and Gavin Hillier with 2:46 remaining in the second period for a 3-1 lead.

Connor Brown got the Ogdensburg Leafs on the scoreboard at 7:05 of the second period from Chad Bruyere.

Other members of the Ogdensburg squad are: Gabriel Clark, Reid Doyle, Theodore Hewko, Hunter Mallette-Hein, Gunnar McLellan, Grady O'Brien, Peyton Brouse, Bryan Doser, Trent Farrand, Colin Hynes, Brodie Mallette-Hein and Nicholi Ramsdell.


The Ogdensburg and Thousand Island Pee Wee C's put on a Class A performance before the Leafs of Ogdensburg Minor Hockey claimed a 1-0 win the championship game. Shifty Nathan Sholette scored in the first period for the only goal allowed in an outstanding netminding duel between the Leafs' Andrew Bertram who made 28 saves and TI's Ryan Hunter who handled 26 chances.

Other members of the Leafs' Pee Wee Cs are: Blane Baxter, Kohen Brenno, Lucas Downey, Zachery Erwin, Michael LaRose, Luca Rishe, Lucas Spears, Connor Bromley, Brian Duprey, Cole Jacobs, Logan Moran, Matthew Seeley and Owen Sias.

"It was an outstanding game. Our two teams are very equal. We tied earlier in the tournament and we played to tie up at Thousand Islands," said Coach Jacobs.


Thousand Islands placed three teams in the tournament finals and came away with an outstanding victory by its Squirt Team which downed Ogdensburg 8-2.

"They are a very good team with a lot of speed," said Ogdensburg Coach Jason Moran who is assisted by Ben Matthews and Mike Spriggs.

Call Cameron scored the Pirates' first four goals and netted two more in the third period. Jaiden Mothersell scored twice, William Frank delivered a goal and an assist and Michael Ortiz passed out an assist.

Gavin Moran and Tommy Sias scored unassisted goals for Ogdensburg.

Other members of the TI championship squad are: Barton Sawyer, Ethan Curtis, Lian Hyde, Cooper Solo, Logan Brown, Carter Cook, Elijah LaSomb, Asa Reid IV and Grady Swenson.

Other members of the Ogdensburg Squirts are: Frank Barr III, Zachary Bujnowski, Carson Fond, Casey Jacobs. John Lalonde, Colin Woods, Nathan Bujnowski, Archer Dafoe. Brandon Irvine, Quinn Jacobs, Cole Matthews, Quintin Murphy and Hunter Spriggs.

Ogdensburg goalie Ty Jacobs celebrates with his Bantam teammates after a 6-3 over Kemptville.


Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.