• davesheasports

SLU Looks To Repeat Liberty League Men's Soccer Title

Updated: Aug 29, 2019

1999 St. Lawrence University Men's Soccer Team Head Coach: Bob Durocher, Captains: Dan Annan, Nick Hillary and Ali Montacer.

The St. Lawrence University men's soccer team closed its stellar 2018 campaign with a 12-3-3 record, capturing the Liberty League regular season and tournament title after defeating Ithaca 3-1 in penalty kicks. The Saints also made their 22nd NCAA appearance in program history and are returning five starters after graduating eight seniors from last season.  

The players reported to preseason on August 17th and have been competing to get into the starting lineup for this upcoming weekend. With 13 talented first years joining the 2019 squad, the competition level has been at an all-time high during both preseason scrimmages.

"We're excited to start the season with some excellent out of conference games, as we gear up to defend our Liberty League title starting later in September," said head coach Mike Toshack. "We'll be returning five starters from our Liberty League Championship team and we're very excited about the competition we have had for places in the first team between the returning players and our incoming freshman class during preseason."

Conor Higgins will return for a fifth year with the Scarlet and Brown as a crucial component to the midfield. Senior Aidan Callahan, who earned Second-Team All-Liberty League honors last season and added two goals and three assists last season, including the Saints' lone goal in the championship match against Ithaca, will also be a starting member of the Saints' sqaud this season.

Juniors Miguel Ridruejo and Sam Sapnar, along with sophomores Robert Reynolds and Raphael Zoccolaro will also be ones to keep an eye on this season. Sapnar tallied one goal and two assists last season and also earned Second-Team honors, while Reynolds scored one goal and Zoccolaro recorded an assist during their first year with the Saints.

Higgins and Sapnar will serve as captains for the 2019 season.

There will be a real battle for the starting goalkeeper spot between senior Ian Randle, juniors Ben Kelty and Kendrew Van Gorder and first-year Ben Woelfinger.

Members of the Saints incoming Class of 2023 include: Woelfinger, Shane HauckMichael McDougaldMarvin SibandaDylan WagstaffMiles LevyMax SaboThomas NelsonBenjamin CullScott LockerTucker MoultonHans NeddeNiklas Franke and sophomore, Parker Hotchkiss.

The Saints will open the 2019 season by co-hosting the North Country Classic tournament with neighboring Clarkson University. The Scarlet and Brown will face off against Springfield on Friday, August 30 at 2 p.m. and Otterbein on Saturday, August 31 at 12 p.m. St. Lawrence will take on Clarkson in Potsdam, New York to open Liberty League play on September 25 and will close the regular season at Hobart on November 2.

Entering the 2019 season the Saints would also like to recognize the 50th anniversary of the 1969 team and the 20th anniversary of the 1999 National Championship team. The 1969 season went 9-2-2 under the direction of Bob Goodwin and finished third in the Atlantic Coast Regional. The 1999 season, under former head coach and current Athletic Director Bob Durocher, was the first time in Division III men's soccer history that a team went unbeaten and untied en route to an NCAA championship as they finished the season 22-0-0.

1969 St. Lawrence University Men's Soccer Team Head Coach: Bob Goodwin, Captains: Alan Davis and Alan Linck


© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.