• davesheasports

SLU's Leet named to Men's Lacrosse Coaches Hall

Longtime St. Lawrence University men's lacrosse coaching legend Don Leet will be enshrined in the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association Hall of Fame in December, the IMLCA announced on Tuesday. Leet coached the Saints from 1970-1997 and racked up 251 victories in 28 seasons in his illustrious career. The coach who put St. Lawrence lacrosse on the map and had a hand in some of the most successful football teams in program history, Don was named the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Man of the Year for 1997 and the NCAA Division III Coach of the Year in 1979. Don was inducted into the Upstate New York Chapter of US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1993 and the St. Lawrence University Hall of Fame in 2004. "What a tremendous and most deserving honor for Don, his wife Maureen and their entire family," said Mike Mahoney '93, P'22, current men's lacrosse head coach and former player for Coach Leet. "When I called to let him know about the induction, in typical Coach Leet fashion, he was quick to change the subject to our current team and any other subject that took the spotlight off him." Don compiled a 253-162 (.609) career record in lacrosse and took his teams to eight NCAA tournaments, three in the Division II-III era and five in Division III. Six of those appearances came consecutively following the initial bid in 1978. His 1979 team was the last team to beat Hobart in the NCAA tournament before the Statesmen went on a run of 12 straight NCAA championships. The Saints upset the Statesmen 12-11 in Geneva, New York, before dropping a tight game at Division II Adelphi in the semifinals. He became the third Division III coach in history to be the head coach of the North-South Game and also served as an assistant coach in that prestigious all-star game. He received the Sportsman's Award from the USILA Referees Association in 1992 and served on the NCAA lacrosse rules committee for eight years. Don was an innovative and successful coach and teacher and was also a popular instructor in the Department of Sport and Leisure Studies. A tri-sport athlete in football, wrestling and lacrosse at Adelphi, Don joined the Saints' staff in 1968-69 and was defensive line coach in football in addition to coaching lacrosse. He produced 35 All-Americas during his lacrosse tenure and also coached three All-America linemen in football. He was defensive line coach for the first three Saints' teams to make the NCAA playoffs including the 10-1 1982 team, just the second in Saints history to record an unbeaten regular season. "His players, colleagues and anyone who knows Coach will agree that you will not find a more selfless, caring and humble man who impacted so many with his words, actions, and overall leadership," said Mahoney. "The IMLCA Hall of Fame is fortunate to have a man of Coach Leet's integrity as an inductee in this year's class. We look forward to celebrating this honor with him as a St. Lawrence lacrosse family in December." "I couldn't have been more pleased to hear that Don Leet was selected for induction into the IMLCA Hall of Fame," said Athletic Director Bob Durocher. "Don was an outstanding teacher of the game, but more importantly he was the master teacher of life's lessons. Whenever I am talking with alumni, I hear story after story about the impact Coach Leet had on his teams. He was tough, fair and never gave up on his students. Coach Don Leet is a St. Lawrence Legend!" Other inductees in the Class of 2019 include: Tom Postel (C.W. Post), William Schmeisser (Johns Hopkins University), Cliff Stevenson (Oberlin College, Brown University), Dick Watts (Kenyon College, University of Maryland, Baltimore County) and Chuck Winters (SUNY Cortland). "The Class of 2019 is responsible for many inaugural championships at their respective institutions and were instrumental in mentoring countless young men. The IMLCA is eternally grateful for their contributions to our great sport," said IMLCA president, J.B. Clarke, head coach at Limestone College. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on Friday, December 6, 2019 at the Baltimore Waterfront Marriott. Tickets can be purchased by visiting

Don Leet who became an institution for St. Lawrence University Men's Lacrosse has been named the National Lacrosse Coaches Hall of Fame.


Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.