• davesheasports

Sophs Lead Field At Section 10 Cross Country


GOUVERNEUR - The Norwood-Norfolk Boys and Girls teams capped the Year of the Flyers and Canton sophomore Nick Lyndacker enjoyed a day of emergence on Thursday as the 2019 Section 10 Cross Country Championships were staged at the snow covered course at the Gouverneur Country Club.

The N-N Boys and Girls, who are both coached by NAC Coach of the Year Kent Fetter, swept Class C honors to follow up undefeated NAC Dual Meet seasons.

The Lady Flyers were led by sophomore Maddie Dinneen whose dominance was not deterred in the least by the snowy-slushy conditions on the already challenging course which features dramatic altitude changes.

"I think I had a good race considering the conditions and our team did very well," said Dinneen whose combination of grace and strength produced a time of 20:33.0 and led N-N to a 31-44 lead over a strong host Gouverneur team. Potsdam ran a solid third with 47.

"I am really looking forward to the states. My goal is to place in the top five."

During the Section 10 Cross Country Awards Ceremony Dinneen was honored with the Girls' Justin Casserly Memorial Award as the NAC's Runner of the Year. Canton senior Arianna Whittaker took second overall in 21:38 and N-N's Sharon Colbert ran third in 22:16.

Whittaker led Canton to Class B honors by a 22-34 margin over Malone. Whittaker, a senior, and freshmen Grace McDonough and Natalia Pearson combined a 1-2-3 finish in the Class B matchup with Lydia Kennedy and Madrid-Waddington student Maria Allen finishing seventh and ninth.

"What Maddie Dinneen is doing a sophomore is pretty amazing. She is running some great times. This has been a great season. Everyone on both is teams gets along very well," said N-N Coach Kent Fetter.

The top three runners in the Girls and Boys Races received medals provided by the coaches.

The Boys Justin Casserly Memorial Award went to Malone's Dylan Perry who placed second overall to a break through race by Canton sophomore Nick Lyndacker on Thursday. Passing Perry on the steep climb 200 yards from the finish Lyndacker gained his first win ever over Malone's junior standout by a 19:19.20-19:25.32 margin.

"Halfway through the race I thought I had a chance to win. I didn't go out really fast so I felt I was in good position," said Lyndacker who triumphed in only his first full season at the varsity level where he was mentored by senior teammate Robert Reed who claimed the third place medal with a a 19:42.22 run.

"I owe a lot to Robert Reed. Running with him has really helped me and OFA's Nate McNally gave me a lot of support last season. In the spring he paced me in a race."

Canton Coach Kris Koetcher felt that the victory was the culmination of a consistent development for his sophomore medalist.

"Nick has been getting better all season and during the season he closed the gap between himself and Dylan. Today he ran just a great race," said Koetcher.

Thomas Hopsicker placed fourth overall in a 19:42 and led N-N to a 36-47 margin over Canton in a race where Layton Colbert, Michael Richards and Clayton Reed posted a decisive 7-8-9 finish.

Perry and Watson Chodat ran 1-2 for Malone in the Boys Class B matchup with Massena where the Malone prevailed 18-45. John Harvey of Massena ran third with Malone filling the next five places.

Brushton-Moira fielded the only complete team in the Boys Race and there was no complete teams in Girls Class D races.

Patrick Cota of Tupper Lake was the Boys Class D winner in 20:35.81 and Tupper Lake's Sandra Kwasniak was the first Class D Girls finisher in 24:40.

The top seven runners from the Boys and Girls Class B, C and D championship teams plus the next five finishers qualified for the New York State Championships next Saturday in Plattsburgh.


OFA junior Lexi Beaulieu made a strong bid (24:42) placing 13th in the Class C Girls Race but fell short of a state meet spot. But she was recognized with the elite Travis Friedrich Memorial Sportsmanship Award where the Section 10 runners nominate select the recipient. The Travis Friedrich Memorial Boys Sportsmanship Award went to Will Kenyon of Salmon River.

"Lexi came back from an ankle injury today and ran really well. She had a great year," said OFA Coach Chris McRoberts.

Emma Murray (29:34) and Brianna McRoberts (34:50) ran 27th and 32nd.

Mitchell McCarthy took 35th overall in 24:02.03 to lead the OFA Boys entries which also included Cody Fifield (38th 25:23.06), Jimmy Martin (43rd 23:35.45), Connor McRoberts (47th 26:13.22) and Brogan LaRose (55th 30:40.16).



Girls Top 5 Overall: Maddie Dinneen (N-N) 20:33.0, Arianna Whittaker (C) 21:38, Sharon Colbert (N-N) 22:16, Issabella Shattraw (P) 22:23, Rikki Griffith (G) 22:29.

Boys Top 5 Overall: Nick Lyndacker (C) 19:19.20, Dylan Perry (Mal) 19:25.32, Robert Reed (C) 19:42.22, Thomas Hopsicker (N-N) 19:42.22, Cole Sibels (G) 19:49.65.

Girls Class C: Norwood-Norfolk 31, Gouverneur 44, Potsdam 47.

Norwood-Nofolk: Maddie Dinneen (1st), Sharon Colbert (2nd), Rachel Hewey (5th), Caera Stone (12th), Lauren Sweet (14). Erin Dickinson 16, Kylie Tebo 21.

Other state qualifiers: Isabella Shattraw (P) 3rd, Rikki Griffith (G) 4th, Abby Bowman (G) 6th, Jocelyn Shattraw (P) 7th, Randi Griffith (G) 8th.

Boys Class C: Norwood-Norfolk 38, Canton 47, Potsdam 68, Salmon River 103, Gouverneur 104, OFA 174.

Norwood-Norfolk: Thomas Hopsicker 3rd, Layton Colbert 7th, Michael Richards 8th, Clayton Reed 9, Levi Sochia 11. Owen Haas 12, Dominic Fiacco 15.

Other State Qualifiers: Nick Lyndacker (C) 1, Robert Reed (C) 2, Cole Siebels (G) 4, Sylvain Foisy (P) 5, Skye Crocker (P) 6.

Girls Class B : Canton 22, Malone 34

Canton (Arianna Whitakker 1, Grace McDonough 2, Natalia Pearson 3, Lydia Kennedy 7, Maria Allen 9. Emily Pandell 10, Katrina Sheffield 12.

Other State Qualifiers: Bethany Poirier 4, Mattison Garland 5, Magadelene Nichols 6, Wyonia Lawrence 8, Emma Perez of Malone 11.

Boys Class B: Malone 18, Massena 45.

Malone: Dylan Perry 1, Watson Chodat 2, Dylan Denny 4, Tye Royal 5, Zachary Sprague 6. Ethan Robistow 7, Nicholas Oddey 8.

Other State Qualifiers: John Harvey, Logan Dobbins 9, Aiden Kerper 12, Gavin Benson 14, Jack Green 22 of Massena.

Class D Boys: Brushton-Moira only complete team.

Brushton-Moira: Colby Cox 2, Luke Chapman 3, Robbie Mayville 5, Dawson White 6, James Durant 7.

Other State Qualifiers: Patrick Cota 1, Carter Riley 4 of Tupper Lake.

Class D Girls: No Complete Teams.

State Qualifiers: Sandra Kwasniak (TL) 1, Abbie Greguire (B-M) 2, Olivia Bobbie (B-M) 3, Holly Goddard (B-M) 4, Skyler Adams (B-M) 5.

Maddie Dinneen of N-N races to the front of the Girls Race at Thuersday's Section 10 Championship at Gouverneur Thursday.

Nick Lyndacker of Canton begins his come-from-behind Malone's Dylan Perry on Thursday.

Maddie Dinneen climbs a hill well ahead of the field on Thursday at the Gouverneur Country Club.


© 2019 by Old School Sports Journal. Proudly created with

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

This site is dedicated to the memory of Chuck Kelly, longtime editor of The Journal and Advance News in Ogdensburg and the greatest newsman in the history of Northern New York.